Javascript Menu by Deluxe-Menu.com

We generally have Divine Liturgy at 9.00am on the first, third and fifth Sundays of each month, with All-night vigil at 6.00pm the preceding Saturday evening.  For other services, please see our current Schedule of Services, below.  On the weekends and feast-days on which we do not have services, our rector serves at Saint Nicholas Russian Orthodox Church, Wallsend.  On the last Wednesday of each month (other than during Great Lent) we have a moleben and akathist to our heavenly protector, Great-Martyr Panteleimon.  In odd-numbered months the moleben and akathist are wholly in Church Slavonic, and in even-numbered months the moleben and akathist are wholly in English.

Download an English-language copy of the Autumn (March, April and May) 2019 Schedule of Services in PDF format here.  A Russian-language copy of the Autumn 2019 Schedule of Services can be downloaded here.

Saturday 2nd March

Commemoration of the Departed

5.00 pm: General panikhida

6.00 pm: All-night vigil

 

Sunday 3rd March

Meatfare: Sunday of the Last Judgement

9.00 am: Divine Liturgy

 

Sunday 10th March

Cheesefare: Sunday of Forgiveness

5.00 pm: Vespers with the rite of asking forgiveness

 

Monday 11th March

Clean Monday

8.00 am: Matins, Hours, Vespers and Typika

7.00 pm: Great Compline with Canon of Saint Andrew of Crete

 

Tuesday 12th March

Clean Tuesday

7.00 pm: Great Compline with Canon of Saint Andrew of Crete

 

Wednesday 13th March

Clean Wednesday

7.00 pm: Great Compline with Canon of Saint Andrew of Crete

 

Thursday 14th March

Clean Thursday

7.00 pm: Great Compline with Canon of Saint Andrew of Crete

 

Saturday 16th March

6.00 pm: All-night vigil

 

Sunday 17th March

1st Sunday in Great Lent: Sunday of Orthodoxy

9.00 am: Divine Liturgy followed by the “Service of supplication for those in error”

6.00 pm: 1st Passia: Vespers with the akathist to the Passion of Christ and the reading of the Gospel of Matthew, Ch. 26- 27

 

Wednesday 20th March

7.00 pm: Great Compline

 

Sunday 24th March

6.00 pm: 2nd Passia: Vespers with the akathist to the Passion of Christ and the reading of the Gospel of Mark, Ch. 14-15

 

Wednesday 27th March

7.00 pm: Great Compline

 

Saturday 30th March

Commemoration of the Departed

5.00 pm: General panikhida

6.00 pm: All-night vigil with the bringing out of the Holy Cross

 

Sunday 31st March

3rd Sunday in Great Lent: Veneration of the Holy Cross

9.00 am: Divine Liturgy

6.00 pm: 3rd Passia: Vespers with the akathist to the Passion of Christ and the reading of the Gospel of Luke, Ch. 22-23

 

Wednesday 3rd April

7.00 pm: Great Compline

 

Saturday 6th April

6.00 pm: All-night vigil

 

Sunday 7th April

THE ANNUNCIATION OF THE THEOTOKOS

4th Sunday in Great Lent

9.00am: Divine Liturgy

6.00 pm: 4th Passia: Vespers with the akathist to the Passion of Christ and the reading of the Gospel of John, Ch. 18-19

 

Wednesday 10th April

6.00 pm: Matins with the Great Canon of Saint Andrew of Crete and the reading of the Life of St Mary of Egypt

 

Sunday 14th April

5.00 pm: Service of Anointing with Oil

 

Wednesday 17th April

7.00 pm: Great Compline

 

Saturday 20th April

6.00 pm: All-night vigil

 

Sunday 21st April

ENTRY OF THE LORD INTO JERUSALEM

Palm Sunday

9.00 am: Divine Liturgy

6.00 pm: Matins

 

Monday 22nd April

Great Monday

7.00 pm: Matins

 

Tuesday 23rd April

Great Tuesday

7.00 pm: Matins

 

Wednesday 24th April

Great Wednesday

7.00 pm: Matins

 

Thursday 25th April

Great Thursday

9.00 am: Divine Liturgy

 

Friday 26th April

Great Friday

12.00 pm: Vespers with the bringing out of the Shroud of Christ

 

6.30 pm: Matins with Lamentations before the Tomb of Christ

 

Saturday 27th April

Great Saturday

8.00 am: Hours, typika and Vespers with the Divine Liturgy of Saint Basil the Great

7.00 pm: Midnight Office, Procession, Paschal Matins with the blessing of Easter eggs and cakes

 

Sunday 28th April

THE RESURRECTION OF CHRIST

11.00 am: Paschal Vespers

 

Monday 29th April

Bright Monday

9.00 am: Divine Liturgy

 

Saturday 4th May

6.00 pm All-night Vigil

 

Sunday 5th May

Thomas Sunday

9.00 am: Divine Liturgy with the cutting of the artos

 

Saturday 18th May

6.00 pm: All-night Vigil

 

Sunday 19th May

Sunday of the Paralytic

9.00 am: Divine Liturgy

 

Wednesday 29th May

7.00 pm: Akathist to Great-Martyr Panteleimon in Slavonic

Share This:


 
Powered by Orthodox Web Solutions Home | Back | Print | Top